Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I bought a big knife today...

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by JMX, Jan 14, 2004.

1. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    a kitchen knife that is.

A 8" WMF Grand Gourmet chef's knife.
    I never imagined I'd pay 50 bucks for a kitchen knife :D but I'm totally stoked. It's so awesome to work with this baby.

[​IMG]

Anyone else have similar kitchen/cooking experiences?

2. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001
    I have a few Wustof grand prixs that I am really fond of. I bought them when I worked as a tepanyaki chef. Fun stuff!

3. JMX, I like to cook, but haven't been doing that much of it lately; I guess I'm just lazy.

Concerning knives: I bought a J.A. Henckels 8" chef's knife about 10 years ago. It cost me $70 U.S. at the time, but it is still such a pleasure to use. It cuts through meat or vegetables so smoothly and it does give you better control over whatever you're cutting than with a cheap knife.

Best money I ever spent on a cooking accessory
    :)

Enjoy.

Mike

4. Danksalot

Danksalot

Apr 9, 2003
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Endorsing Artist: SIT Strings
    I've had Cutco for a few years now. Never seen anything better.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

5. please daddy, don't let them cut me :meh:

heh

6. baba

baba Supporting Member

Jan 22, 2002
    3rd stone from the sun
    Money well spent. Keep it sharp!

I mostly use a 10 inch chef's knife. The cleaver and paring knives are my other main blades.

Edit: Oh yeah, they're Henckels. Love 'em.

7. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    We are also a J.A. Henckels family. I bought my wife this one last week.......
    [​IMG]

-Mike

8. Hey, I'm into knives too... This one came with an SKS attached to it. :D

9. DigMe

DigMe

Aug 10, 2002