I bought my first bass in 1976

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Andy Daventry, Mar 30, 2001.

1. and since then (OK, I had a bassless gap from about 87-98) I have NEVER broken a string. Anyone here frequently break bass strings? How?
  2. Andy,
    I've been playing for 12 years and I've never broken a string either. And I play really hard, too. I just don't get how people break strings! I've heard people say they break on the bridge saddles. Or if you leave them on for a really long time, they are bound to break eventually.
  3. bassmonkeee

bassmonkeee Supporting Member

Sep 13, 2000
    Decatur, GA
    It's been awhile since I've broken one, too. The last one was at an outdoor gig. The a string just decided it was done. I wasn't playing particularly hard, or anything. I used to break some when I had a kahler tremolo on my main bass, but that's different. If anyone is breaking a ton of strings these days, it is more than likely "pilot error" or a problem with the bridge.
  4. Jman

Mar 24, 2000
    Been playing since 72 and never broke a string,but I have a lite touch.
    Bass Players have a bigger G-string
  5. I used to break strings constantly. I have since modified my style a little bit (try to play with a lighter touch) and I haven't broken strings with any regularity lately.

The interesting thing is often times, when I broke a string, it wasn't always the one I was plucking but the one just above it. For instance- If I was hammering on the A string, the E string would break because it was stopping the motion of my fingers. Anyway after awhile, I got to be pretty good at yanking the broken string out of the way and playing on until the song was finished.:)