1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I can only read tabs?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Ambra, Feb 18, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Ambra

Ambra

Feb 18, 2017
    Italy
    Hello everyone, I've stumbled upon a very weird situation - I can't read anything besides tabs. Do you think this could become a problem? I'm a beginner and I never needed to read anything really.

2. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

I don't know if it's a "problem," but it's a limitation. Tabs can be useful as a learning tool.

But, of course, if you don't learn to read standard notation, you'll never be able to play a song written in standard notation.

Also, a lot of people get dependent on just following a tab and never step beyond it to being able to learn a song by ear or create a part off a chord chart. That's very limiting. A lot of popular music isn't written down in standard notation, either, or at least most people don't get copies of it in that form; but if a guitarist tells you the verse of the song goes from G to C to D, you should know how to build a bass line off of that.

ColdEye, hintz, HolmeBass and 8 others like this.
  3. Chains

Chains

Jan 22, 2014
    Tabs only are OK, better than nothing, but it really depends on what you are using them for. Personal practice, cover band, exact reproduction of originals? and so on....

As a beginner, train your ear to tell you what is right or not, especially if you are familiar with the original recording. Most internet tabs are not 100% correct so that is where your ear will help.

4. Being able to read standard notation is another tool in your toolbox

5. Oddly

Oddly Supporting Member

Jan 17, 2014
    Dublin, Ireland.
    Honestly no.
    Obviously learning to read standard notation would be great especially if you have any notion of becoming a pro session player.