Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I can't find info on this subject...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by atf487, Dec 8, 2003.

1. atf487

atf487

Nov 25, 2003
    Millis, MA
    ...So I wondered if I can have some help.

I don't really wanna mess around with a practice amp, seeing how I'd just need to buy a cab anyway. I like playing with headphones, so this is my question:

If I bought the Behringer BX3000T head, could I plug my headphones into the line-out, and use it until I have enough money for the cab?

I searched the forums and couldn't find anything, sorry if there was (I'm not very good with search terms)

2. Wes Whitmore

Wes Whitmore Supporting Member

Mar 10, 2003
    Columbus, OH
    I don't know how you are using your headphones to hear yourself now, but if you wanted to use your head as a preamp, you might want to use the send/tuner section instead. That way, you can use the volume knob to turn it down, or up. I don't know if it will be loud enough for you or not. Its all millavolts at line level. It might get you by until you get the cab though. Watch your hearing.
    Wes

3. miccheck1516

miccheck1516 Guest

Feb 15, 2003
    Ireland
    Id say it would be ok

4. atf487

atf487

Nov 25, 2003
    Millis, MA
    Thanks Wes, I have a pair currently that aren't very good, and am playing through a guitar amp :(

The send/tuner thing sounds like it should work, now that you say that.

5. jgsbass

jgsbass

May 28, 2003
    Floral Park, NY
    It would be feasable if the Behringer can be run with no load on the speakers. Otherwise your looking at the delicacy known as fried amp.

6. BillyB_from_LZ

BillyB_from_LZ Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2000
    Chicago
    I don't know if a line out has enough signal...and if it did you'd only hear your bass in your left ear (tip and sleeve are for the left, ring and sleeve are for the right).