Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I can't tune the E string to E!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by HostileApostle, Mar 16, 2002.

1. Yeah I know I am a newbie. Now that I finally tackled my first stringing, I still can't tune my damn E string to an E!

I have a Korg Chromatic tuner and I can't get the string to tune to an E. I don't know why. It's making me very mad too.

If I make the string too tight it snaps. Argh.

2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Play a flageolet at the 12th fret and tune that to E.

3. flageolet?

4. JMX

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Sorry, harmonic is another term.

Place your finger very lightly over the 12th fret, really just barely touch it.

5. JMX

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Never heard that term.
    It's either flageolet (in classical music) or (natural) harmonic AFAIK.
    Belltone sounds more like a slang term to me.

6. Eric Cioe

Eric Cioe

Jun 4, 2001
    Missoula, MT
    we've always called them harmonics in my orchestral classes. i like learning new terms though, but i agree that belltone is slang.

also, thanks for being a cool newbie. a lot of them come in and would be like "well i call it this so **** you"

thank you for not being stupid IMO

7. Darn. I must have just had two dead strings in a row then.

I will try the Harmonic thing though.

Thanks!

8. Sweet I got it to work.

Thanks a lot guys.

9. Eric Cioe

Eric Cioe

Jun 4, 2001
    Missoula, MT
    anything for a newbie that isnt an ass

10. nivagues

nivagues

Jan 18, 2002
    Hostile Apostle,

Some time ago I had a similar problem. If you have active electronics in your Bass, try replacing the battery.

Cheers.

11. Eric Cioe

Eric Cioe

Jun 4, 2001
    Missoula, MT
    Hostile Apostle...

the funny thing is, i am calling you a newbie, but you are 2 years older than me!! :eek:

12. Munjibunga