1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I don't know what my strings are, please help!

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by The Ram, Dec 3, 2017.

1. The Ram

The Ram

Jul 8, 2008
    I've been playing bass for years and I am not a techie person at all. I own 2 electric bass guitars and one of them I haven't changed the strings since I bought it which was about 7 years ago. It's an Aria Pro II SB 1000, Korean. I bought it from a shop I don't believe exists anymore. For anyone familiar with the make, do you know what strings they are so I can replace them?

2. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    Whatever strings might've come on the bass originally are probably long gone. Do you want to know what they are because you like them and want newer ones? A description or pictures would help identify them. Otherwise you can pretty much use whatever you want. You don't have to use the same type of strings.

3. saltydude

saltydude

Aug 15, 2011
    boston CANADA
    Is there any particular reason you want to put the same set of strings on? 7 years is a long span of time. Anything new will come to life and sound quite different.
    I’d recommend buying a couple of standard gage sets. One nickel one stainless and see what suits your fancy.

4. The Ram

The Ram

Jul 8, 2008
    Because I like them.

5. mmbongo

mmbongo Five Time World Champion Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas
    If you like them, you should probably keep them. A new set will sound nothing like what you have now.

Otherwise if you just want new strings just to get new strings, a flatwound or pressurewound string will sound a lot like a dead, 7 year old roundwound...assuming you have roundwounds now.

Arthur U. Poon and jfh2112 like this.
  6. The Ram

The Ram

Jul 8, 2008