I don't know what to do.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Dbt25677, Aug 13, 2013.

1. Dbt25677

Dbt25677

Jun 9, 2013
    I've been playing bass for 6 months now and I enjoy it heaps. Jamming with other people IRL is no problem and playing music I've learned is easy as well.
    But whenever I sit down to think of something to write or improvise, I'm completely lost. I just play meaningless bad-sounding notes in a row and I'm no good at making up my own stuff. I have written a few little songs that sound ok, but now, I just suck. This has only really happened today. I'm scared that this may last longer and I'd hate it to because I love playing bass. Can someone tell me if there's any way you can get ideas for playing without copying completely? Because I don't want to be in a cover band.
    I try, try, and try again to get a nice rhythm but I can't. I just can't do it. I try to hold onto something that sounds nice but then it's gone.
    Can someone provide me with some scales or something so I can get an idea for what I should be going for?

2. Try to make songs based off of scales or other songs. Most of the basslines I've created are just simple jazz style ones that only use the 2nd through 4th frets.

3. Volpe25

Volpe25

May 5, 2012
    Ireland
    Start with the major and minor scales and then look at basic chord progressions for example: I-IV-V-I or I-IV-I-V-I.

A good place to start with chord progressions is the "pop progression": I-IV-vi-IV

Choose any scale and find a groove and settle yourself in the groove, when you have it down, start improvising, throw in an octave or a slide or a 5th, just start working your way up. Its a slow enough way to start but it will give you a better grounding

4. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    Give yourself a break ! ;) Six months is no time at all to be playing.