Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I don't lke my new tubes....

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Tecx, Apr 10, 2003.

1. Tecx

Tecx Radio Rock Leads To Sterility

Jun 9, 2002
    Halifax, NS, Canada
    I have a Peavey Rockmaster tube preamp (that I use for distortion) that uses four 12ax7's... Well they started to get REALLY microphnic, and noisy... So I went out and bought 4 new Russan Solvtek's, I just put them in... And I was not happy with them at all... I duno... I had to re adjust all my settings, and it still sounds strange... They are good tubes, I tested them... Am I crazy?.. Or did I just get used to the sound of the old ones?... The ones I took out where the original peavey tubes which are made in china... I dunno... :confused:

Alex

[​IMG]

2. PollyBass

PollyBass ******

Jun 25, 2001
    Shreveport, LA
    I don't know, maybe the tubes gotta get worn in???

Uh, and i want that preamp. Where did you get yours? I have been looking around for one a long time.

3. Tecx

Jun 9, 2002
    Halifax, NS, Canada
    REALLY?.. wow, I didn't think anyone liked them than me for bass!.. Where do you know it from?.. I actualy got it as new old stock from a local store here, for $140!!! But I had to order a footswitch for it (because it is usless without it) and that set me back a bit... But the guys at peavey are great, and on the ball - getting me a footswitch that is like 10 years old and such...

Alex

ps. This thing's crunch chanel is PRICELESS, it has that just right "tube amp being pushed just a little too far" sound... :)

4. PollyBass

PollyBass ******

Jun 25, 2001
    Shreveport, LA

i HATE you! That thing just sounded BEAUTIFUL. God i really hate you. I don't know why I can't find one. I played it once, thats all it took. I had all but given up,,, then you post about it. maybe i need to scan ebay again,,,,*sigh*.

5. Tecx