I don't wanna be in Widespread Panic, but.......

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by lneal, Aug 7, 2002.

1. lneal

Apr 12, 2002
    Lee County, Alabama
    (Kinda long.)

I have an opportunity to be in a Widespread cover band.

Go ahead and get the laughter over with!

OK, now, I'm not a "Spreadhead"; hell I had never even heard a Widespread song until I started learning these for audition. And the guys in the band aren't really fans either, but they like the creativity (and the money!) I didn't think I would like it but wanted to try anyway. So I learned 12 songs, went and jammed with them last night and......damn........I had a blast! It was very free and uninhibited. Nobody said "man, you didn't play that just right". They really dug my playing and my tone, and the fact that I can jam. These are all guys I have known for years and they are all very cool, mature and quite good! They told me I have the gig if I want it. Don't mind if I do!
    They have been out working for about a year and have a good buzz happening here in the southeast. They also have some important booking agents behind them; 2 of the area's heavy hitters. And plenty of work scheduled in nice rooms. Did I say nice rooms? Unbelievable!

What's the point of all this? Well, I am happy about it and wanted to spread the cheer. I'm usually such a grouch! I was wondering if there are any other "jam band" bassists here and your thoughts on this. Oh and any tips are welcomed.:cool:
  2. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002