1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I FINALLY found 'MY SOUND'

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by rickwolff, Mar 29, 2015.

1. rickwolff

rickwolff CGJ -- Endorsing Artist-- ---3M Dual Lock--- Supporting Member

We shall not cease from exploration, and the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time.

T. S. Eliot

Sorry: Long rant warning.

Since I started playing a little over 2 years ago after a 25 year detour to the 'real world' I have been searching (like most of us) for THE SOUND.

Without going through the whole history of Basses, Strings, Amps, Pickups, Mics etc. etc. etc. I MAY have finally come to at least a temporary 'Cease Fire' in my quest.

My salvation may have come from the fact that I like to record my gigs - currently with my little Zoom H4N 4 track recorder. I have been trying to get That Sound on my gigs that I hear in good recordings. I guess I finally accepted that 'live sound' can only hope to approximate really good 'studio sound'. So now, I do both at the same time.

What that means is that my 'live sound' is my Shen Gemunder 7/8 thru a Lifeline, sometimes thru my Headway EDB-2, and sometimes straight into my GB Shuttle 3.0 8T, and sometimes with a Fender Neo 112 underneath that. By cranking up the high-mids on the Shuttle I got the best sound I've had yet on a duo gig with grand piano last Friday night.

AT THE SAME TIME I have made a little mic attachment that connects to my basses tailpiece and holds a pencil condensor mic right in front of and just above my bridge. I'm sure I couldn't amplify that, at least not to any volume without feedback, but I feed that directly into the mic input on my Zoom recorder.