I got my first Fretless!!!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by alexssandro, Nov 17, 2001.

1. I just wanted to share that I got my first fretless! I've been playing bass for almost 11 years and all I can think is, "Why didn't I get one sooner?!?" It really opens up a whole new world. I mean, I've tried them many times before, but this was the first time I really spent quality practice time with it, and man, I love it!

I'm actually having fun just playing the darn major scale and mwah-ing the hell out of it!:D It feels so good to just let the notes sing instead of playing fast runs. Anyways, I'm sure all you fretless players have known this for years.

Oh, the bass? It's just a MIM Fender Jazz. Nothing special, but it's a good enough start for me!:)
  2. Hey!!! Good for you Alex!!!

Never played a fretless here...yet.Would`nt mind just getting a really cheap-o one to cut my teeth on though.Is yours lined or unlined?I really think the unlined look classy as hell....of course I would have to get the lined!! lol Anyways,hope she brings you much joy!:)

Any pics forthcoming?;)
  4. Hey, thanks guys for sharing my enthusiasm! It's lined and purplish in color. As far as gear goes, the bass is rather modest, but MWAAAAAHHHHHHH indeed!!!
  5. Modest? Cost of your instrument has no bearing on what you can do with it. I love my MIM Jazz (fretted), and there's nothing I can't do with it that I could do on a $1500 bass. (I did put in a new bridge though). Also, consider having a tech. set it up for you and get your action as low as possible.

6. The "modest" statement was actually meant in response to posting a picture. (should have specified exactly what I meant. :() I mean with JT posting pics of his doubleneck 7 strings, Munji with his Laklands, Nino with his Sadowskys, I can't quite see myself posting the pic. ;) Don't own a digital camera anyway.