Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I GOT MY NEW AVATAR 4x10!!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by I_am_Rage, Jul 1, 2002.

1. It is a massive cab let me tell you that. I plugged everything in and i started playing......and as i am playing i am a noticing a hissing sound coming from the amp. I play some more and listen and i find that the tweeter has a hell of a lot of hissing coming from it. I don't think this is normal...i've never heard anything like that before. Do i have it set up wrong or did i get a bad tweeter?

I am having a lot of bad luck lately. :(

2. Nick man

Nick man

Apr 7, 2002
    Tampa Bay
    do you have acontrol for the tweeter on the back of the amp? If so, turn it down.

Do you boost the highs alot? If so, turn them down.

This is a normal problem with tweeters, and is usually just an issue of too much highs. Its probably not the tweeter, but bad shielding that is causing the hiss to become part of the signal, you just hear it onow becasue you have a tweeter that can put out sounds of that frequency.

Peace
    Nick

3. oh so that's what that knob in the back was there for. ;)

Thanks Nick

4. Nick man

Nick man

Apr 7, 2002
    Tampa Bay
    Glad to help!

Peace
    Nick

5. Quadzilla

Quadzilla Supporting Member

Tell us what you think (good or bad)!!!!

6. yeah my avatar 2x10 had the same hissing problem, all you can do is turn the tweeter down a bit and that solves it. Ive heard good things about those 4x10s so do tell how it is

7. I only got to fool around with it for 10 minutes or so and from what i heard, it doesn't sound bad...I need to play with the band to get the full feel. But from what i got from it, I don't think the GK400RB-III to the one 8ohm cab will be loud enough. So i might go out and replace it with a GK700 but i'll wait until band practice to fully decide.