Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I hate Day Tripper!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Tony Canevaro, Dec 14, 2004.

1. Tony Canevaro

Tony Canevaro

Jan 4, 2004
    I swear Paul McCartney wrote this song just to spite me. :bawl:

I have real trouble with getting the sound clean. My fingers have to stretch to such abnormal proportions. I can make it sound like the tune but with all kinds of fret buzzing and accidental mutes.... grrrr.

Had to vent, I'm sure it is a practice thing but I've been playing it for a couple of months now and I can;t get past the first few bars. :mad:

2. Its all about practising...make sure you warm up your fingers well before getting into playing the riff....also some stretching type excersises might help you.

3. Don't feel bad - it's a hard tune (well, it is for me ;) ).

I learnt it from the transcription in Bass Player, but it took me a while before I could play along with the song at full speed and sound half decent.

The thing that helped me was practising it slowly with my metronome. From memory the song is at 138bpm or something...I started at 60 bpm! :eek:

Only when I could really nail it at that speed, I went a bit quicker.

Anyway, that's what worked for me - I can still improve on it heaps, but it's not too bad now.

;)

4. iamthebassman

iamthebassman

Feb 24, 2004
    Austin,Texas
    Endorsing Artist: Phantom Guitars, Eastwood Guitars
    I play..and sing it every show. Helps to have a short-scale bass, like a Hofner for instance.

5. if it's too hard for you, start with the White Snake version and then move up :)

6. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    D'oah!!

Joe

(Edit) Dude:

I just went to your band site for a listen. I dig that rendition of I Am The Walrus. Nice!

You guys changed the words to the chant at the end though, didn't you?

Joe

7. Squidfinger