I hate my local music scene...

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by CJ_Marsicano, May 27, 2003.

1. I've been playing semi-professionally since 1985 in the Northeast Pennsylvania area, and I've already given my musical history elsewhere on this board a while back, so I won't elaborate again there. In short, I haven't played in a regular band since 1996 and only sat in once with one other band two and a half years ago. Not long ago, after taking the two-hour drive (and the day off from work) to see Mike Watt play in Philly, I got the itch and decided to see if I could get a new band together, only this time I decided that I want to be the H.N.I.C. this time around, after years of being a sidemouse and playing other people's music.

So I wrote up an ad, printed a couple of flyers which I posted at the music stores in my area, and took out an ad in the local music paper, listing the influences for what I wanted to do as far as covers and originals (Stooges, Black Flag, Minutemen, fIREHOSE, Husker Du, etc.).

It's been about four or five weeks since I did all that, and here's how many responses I've gotten via phone and e-mail so far:

Yes, that's right, none. Nothing, zero, zilch, ****-all, gooseegg, nada, bupkiss. I am beyond frustrated enough. If you're not playing overplayed bar band standards/classic rock, tuneless nu-metal garbage, or wannabe Deadhead/Dave Matthews jamband stuff, it seems like musicians around here may not be interested... YET I know for a fact that playing a repritoire different from the same old dungheap would be a welcome change of airspace around here.

Am I banging my head against the wall for nothing, or is it just that musicians in Northeastern PA simply have no sense of adventure anymore?
  2. lermgalieu

lermgalieu Supporting Member

Apr 27, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA