Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I have a 2 x EL34 head...will it be loud enough..?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by doublestop, Mar 25, 2003.

1. Hello, I am a guitarist venturing into new territory…basses! I have an amp question – sorry if it's stupid…I come from a guitar world, right?

I have this vintage 35…40 watts, all tube head (2 x EL34 power tubes). It is a 1963 Klemt Echolette, a German head, Marshall inspired. I use it for guitar, with a 1 x 12 cab, although officially it is a bass head. But actually it's too loud for me….

Woud this amp be loud enough for bass? I read all this stuff about 200 or 300 Watt amps…which seems like a LOT to me: for my guitar I prefer 15, or 20 Watt amps…..

So my question is: is a 40 watts all tube bass amp loud enough for a band?
    2nd question: what cab should I buy? A vintage 15" cab (there's one for sale locally) or a new 2 x 10 cab? (ore maybe 4 x 10) .

Thanks. Peter

2. Without knowing the specifics of what type of music you want to play or what instruments you want to compete with, I would say it's unlikely that a 40 watt head will be loud enough. It takes a lot more power to amplify bass to get the same volume you would with a guitar.

3. Probably not. My 1st real bass amp was a Fender bassman with the small 2x12 cab. It had 2x6L6's and putout simular power. I'll never forget how disappointed I was when I tried to play a live gig with it. It sounded OK as long as we were playing "Sunshine of Your Love" but it really sucked when I tried to get a clean deep sound. I saved my money and bought a Kustom 200 with 2x15's and was much happier. Bass guitar needs at least clean 200 watts and a fairly efficient cab to play at "live band volume". Any less will probably be a disappointment.

4. bollefen

bollefen

Mar 13, 2003
    CT
    you'll be unhappy with the amp.