I have a problem buying exotic bass gear... someone help.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Obsius29A, Sep 4, 2004.

1. Obsius29A

Dec 20, 1999
    Huntington, NY
    I can't stop fiending over seriously delicious bass gear. In one weekend alone I bought a Schecter Model-T, a gorgeous early 80s Alembic, and a Mesa Boogie m-Pulse 600 + Road Ready 4x10 rig. This is in addition to my Ernie Ball Stingray 5 and Fretless Stingray 4, and Tacoma USA Acoustic 4.

Now, this is not a collection that comes close to rivaling what some of you guys have. But when you consider the following points, you will see that I have a sickness:

1) I am most definitely going to purchase one or two completely exotic basses within the next two months.
    2) I am a freaking ELECTRIC GUITAR player, not a bassist!

My deal is that I am a pretty sick guitarist and have a real affinity and instinct for low end grooves- I've tracked bass for two full albums and I have to say that the bass playing is about as good as it was going to get for this music. I'm really proud of what I accomplished.

But I keep buying this stuff because I want the bass guitar on my own album (which is in the works) to be absolutely amazing sounding. I love playing the bass, and I love great bassists. I am definitely pretty damn good, but I know that there has got to be someone better who would really play the hell out of my material.

So here is where you help... are any of you guys in your 20s, sick at the bass, and in the NY area? Because if you have GAS, I will open up my soon-to-be outrageous arsenal (I'm itching for a Linc Luthier, Browne, or Ken Lawrence Chamberbrase) to someone who would want to play bass on a great album and possibly in a really great band.

Someone please get in touch so I can get back to singing and playing the guitar and... buying sick bass gear for you to play in the studio and on stage ;-)
  2. JPJ

Apr 21, 2001
    Chicago, IL