Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I have a problem playing by ear

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by haplo07, May 8, 2002.

1. haplo07

haplo07 Guest

Apr 13, 2002
    Tinley Park, IL
    Hi. I am new to the bass. i mainly know guitar and besides the usually questions that arise when i play my new bass, one is how do i play by ear now? I can't seem to discern one note from another on the finger board while i am trying to figure out a bass riff like i would trying to figure out a guitar riff. it's harder for me to pick out the bass in my music as notes rather then a groove or bottom end as i have always look at it in the past. does anyone have any suggestions or it is like anything, something i just get a feel for and learn over time and it's just a case of "starting over" frustration with me?

2. CS

CS

Dec 11, 1999
    UK
  3. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    If you really can't hear the notes as notes ON THE BASS (as opposed to when listening to recordings) then you need to work on playing scales and arpeggios until you DO hear it :confused:

4. Here is something posted by Jazzbo that gave me lots of encouragement, perhaps it will help you as well.

quote:
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Originally posted by bcarll
    So how do you learn to listen and be able to pick these lines out? Is there a technique that works or is it either you have the ability to do it or you don't? Many singers can sing harmony to almost any song they hear but does that mean if you can't do that you can't "learn" to sing the parts of a song. Seems like you either have that gift or you don't and if you don't you're going to be a stuggling bass player. So---- I want to learn this ability so please share with us how we can learn to hear and play bass lines.