I have become enlightened...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by crazyphil, Oct 14, 2002.

1. I'm a beginner..so it's no secret. In reading these boards I've searching for the best bass to learn on, as well as buying a bass that is a true keeper. First there was the Ibanez GSR 200. Great bass for beginners, but I traded it in for a Warwick Rockbass a month down the road. Didn't like the sound of the Rockbass, so I returned it for a MIM Fender..nice and deep, but un-slappable and the electronics left a little to be desired. Back it went and in came an Ibanez Sound Gear 480. Nice bass, stays in tune, looks good, but the damn strings are so close together. So I go to the store and pick up an Ibanez BTB 4005QM. Beautiful bass, but I didn't like it..brought it back..prayed....performed the African Bass Dance, and a light shined through the heavens. The clouds opened up and down came a Red Music Man Stingray 4-string.

Although I cannot use this instrument to its full potential due to my lack of skills, this is the bass I will continue to learn on......this is the bass I will have 25 years from now...

I now see what all the fuss is about; I have become enlightened...
  2. Tsal

Jan 28, 2000
    Finland, EU
    So basicly, you took yourself out of years of bass buying and GAS satisying. Real class job, kid :rolleyes:

See, this is why you try out the basses before you buy em ;) Enjoy the Stingray!
  3. pyrohr

Aug 28, 2001
    Pakistani compound
    Hey crazyphil, you said you could not slap on the mim bass? maybe the bass was not the problem. What I am trying to say is it is normal when we start to play we try to play everything we like and hear without learning how to play the instrument. It is VERY important that you learn how to play the instrument first then learn how to apply the different styles. It is very hard to unlearn bad habit's, and it is a poor craftsmen who blames his tool's.
  4. SixString

Jul 20, 2002