1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I HAVE FRET BUZZ!

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by dain bramage, Apr 14, 2006.

1. I have serious fret buzz on the E string and it won't go away. What do you recommend?

2. I got one when i first started playing, on the E string aswell. My string soon snapped and i restrung the entire instrument and after that it only persisted till i got a little better. Or maybe it was when the strings wore in. Not sure. It could be more serious, however if you are new its likely to not be much, so are u a new player?

3. I've been playing for a couple months... the string won't go down any farther, so that's not it... should I tune it or what?

4. "the string won't go down any farther"

Nice grammar, and that's probably why you're copping fretbuzz. Your actions too low. Either that or your frets aren't level, you have a bow in your neck, you're playing too hard, blah blah blah. There's so many things that could be causing the buzz. Take it to a tech and save yourself the effort.

5. Akami

Akami Four on the floor

Mar 6, 2005
    日本/Alyeska
    If it's set too low than you may be able to simply adjust the buzz away by raising the bridge piece for that string.

Check it out and give a call in the morning...

6. Have u had this buzz since u started?

7. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD Supporting Member

Feb 20, 2005
    Seweracuse, NY

First off, you should be making sure your bass is in tune regularly.

Second, if you're new to things, you need to either spend some time learning how to set up an instrument. Learn how to adjust the relief in the neck (truss rod adjustment) and also the string height and intonation. Since you're fairly new to bass, I'd suggest finding someone locally who can do an initial set up.

8. ElBajista