I have issues

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by The Nanny, Jul 20, 2005.

1. The Nanny

The Nanny

Dec 23, 2004
    Ottawa, Canada
    Any bandmates I've ever had tell me I'm a great bassist, and one of the best they've ever played with. I suspect they have no idea what they are talking about.

I've never had any formal bass training...been playing for 20 years, just learning on my own...no teacher, no mentor. I play by ear and feel. But I feel like a total dufus around what I consider REAL bass players...those who know theory, have good technique (I don't even know if I have bad technique, but I'm pretty sure I do), and can sight read. I'm a rock, pop, and metal bassist. That's it. I am always full of confidence around other non-bassist musicians, but when I meet someone who has the training (its obvious), I feel like I'm 6 years old and I don't even want them to see me play. I don't even like trying a bass in a music store.

Anyone else have this complex?
  2. pdusen

Aug 18, 2004

It's all about the music, man.
  3. I've certainly had my fair share of those moments. I began playing bass when I was 16 at the behest of a friend who essentially said, "Dude, I'm starting a band. You gotta' learn bass. It's a lot easier than learning guitar." Granted, I grew up playing classical piano, so I started with a good ear, solid knowledge of theory, and decent finger strength. The only thing that surprised me was how f'ing much those stainless strings hurt my virgin skin. The callousing process was painful, but I stuck with it.

I took a few lessons with some dude who was first and foremost a guitar player. He also happened to teach bass, but wasn't a bass player -- something which became quickly evident and pissed me off. I wasn't interested in bass as a tuned down guitar. I learned a few scale patterns, bid him adieu, bought a bunch of instructional books and videos, and just played.