I have no idea!

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by projectBdaddy8, Nov 12, 2002.

1. I am a bassist of about one year and ive never really done anything with bass effects pedals. I read an article about them, but i still dont know what to use, how to use, why to use. I would like to keep my sound pretty clean (in other words, no distortion). What should i look into?
  2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

The easiest way to keep your sound clean is to avoid cheap effects pedals altogether, as they often introduce noise and distortion and can easily suck all the bass out of your tone - especially if they were designed for guitars !!
  3. punkfunkfreak

Dec 16, 2001
    or indeed all the tone out of your bass ;)
  4. Stupidnick

Mar 22, 2002
    ...my room...
    you could get a delay.. the boss digital delay is good.. it wont effect your tone i dont think.
    The Headrush is really good =D
    a bass chorus might be good.. if you listen to funk you might wanna check out a Envelope filter or a Wah pedal..
    You could try out stuff like Tremelo pedals, vibratos, slapback echos(fun), It depends what kinda person you are.. I dont use any effects anymore. I play with my distortion and my envelope filter once in a blue moon but thats it.
  5. My experience with effects...
    ...and the experience of many others as well.

Start off with reasonabily priced effects,
    move on to multi-effects.
    Then expensive multi-effects.

Discover after much $$$ and time that they are basicly tone sucks.

Have to manage lots of wire connections and batteries.
    Risk of problems on stage are magnified.
    Buy lot's of batteries. Trip over wires. Kick boxes.

Go expensive.

Individual handwired, expensive pedals that are all analog with true bypass.

Find that these pedals sound MUCH better then anything else out-there.

Realize a few great pedals are better then more.