1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I Have Seen the Amp EQ Light (FINALLY!) Give me the mids, baby!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by burl0029, Jan 27, 2012.

1. Tonight's rehearsal was a revelation. After 10+ years of playing bass, I've finally figured out how to EQ my amp so I can hear myself properly in the mix and still sound good within the context of the song. Don't get me wrong, I've been a manual-reading, information-seeking knob twiddler since day one, but I've never had someone show me how to get a good sound in a band context. I am a self-taught player and have not had the fortune of hooking up with an experienced mentor to learn from. I've finally stumbled upon it through trial and error.

Like so many people, I'm guilty of spending way too much time trying to get my gear to sound fantastic when playing alone. Each new amp, cab, bass, pickup, preamp, etc always promises to be the cure to my ills, but invariably disappoints when subjected to the realities of playing with other people.

As it turns out, I just needed to reclaim my mid frequencies. When sitting down with an amp, invariably I would goose the BASS control a bit to get a bigger sound. Next, I'd boost the HIGHS to regain some definition lost when the BASS was turned up. Sure, it sounded good noodling in my basement, but to some degree I always felt lost and powerless within the mix with the band.

SIDEBAR: A note about my typical setup. I usually run my basses (Fender P w/flats and Fender Jaguar with D'Addario steels; both with aftermarket pups) into a SansAmp with the bass and treble boosted, the Presence set at about 9 o'clock and the Blend all the way wet. Then I go into the amp which has all the EQ set flat. /SIDEBAR