i just can't get it!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by sashi.d, Apr 8, 2002.

1. sashi.d

Apr 8, 2002
    I have only been playing for 2 years so compared to some of you guys i'm a beginner, anyway i have two dilemmas
    1. Not matter how much i try i can't seem to find the harmonic notes on the fretboard to play victor wootens improv amazing grace, can someone gimme a hand:confused:
    2. I heard there was a site with the tabs for havona I would love to be able to play this piece
  2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

On 1 - some basses and strings are better at producing harmonics than others - although it could be a technique thing as well.

So - on a Jazz bass, if you boost the bridge pickup and have bright roundwound strings you can hear harmonics better. If your bass is poorly set up or has dull strings it may be hard to hear some harmonics. The more accurate you are as well, the clearer you will hear them.

ON 2 - lucas pickford's site has a complete transcription of Havona - which is also in the Real Book - try here :

3. sashi.d

Apr 8, 2002
    thanks a heap mate
    i think i'll put that in the 'work on in 10 years time section' (i freaked out when i saw it was sheet music)
    one thing though, it seems there is only 2 pages, a piece that long should have more pages shouldn't it?
  4. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Well - this is Jazz man!! ;)

So what you have is a "head" - the tune! Followed by a chord sequence which the players will improvise solos over. So the soloing section is 22 bars which constitutes a "chorus" in Jazz terms. Each soloist might take several choruses, but I think on the recording they about take 2 choruses each - so you have like piano, sax and bass solos, then the head again and a coda to finish off.