I just got contact lenses - pls help!

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by cgworkman, Jun 21, 2005.

1. cgworkman

May 14, 2004
    I got contact lenses for the first time yesterday. I've worn glasses since I was probably 12 yrs old.

For those of you who have experience with this sort of thing - I have some questions: How long did it take you to get used to wearing them? Did they burn? Did your vision appear funny for awhile? Everything seems so bright. Is this normal?

Any tips?

Thanks in advance!
  2. It took me two days to get used to it. Now, I cant stand to wear my glasses.
  3. Marley's Ghost

Marley's Ghost Gold Supporting Member

Feb 9, 2002
    Tampa, FL
    I have been wearing them for 25 years. A few days is all it should take to get used to them. Then you will never want to go back to glasses. ;)
  4. You should be fine in a couple of days. I have blurriness in mine from time to time because I have an astigmatism in my eyes and my contacts have to sit a certain way on my eyeball or else I won't see right.

IMO, everything seems brighter because you can now see without having a 1/4" thick piece of glass in front of your eyes anymore. I've often wondered if the glass/contact-less sees like this all the time??
  5. cgworkman

May 14, 2004
    Thanks guys - I appreciate the input. I'm hoping in a few days it will even out for me.
  6. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    It took me about a week to adjust to having them on. I never had a situation when the lenses burned my eyes. No issues with my vision being weird or funny. I switch back and forth between my glasses and contacts quite frequently, and I do notice that things are brighter, and larger when I am wearing my contact lenses.