Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I just made the fretbuzz WAY worse.

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by MCBTunes, Apr 18, 2005.

1. well i got the bass intonated, tuned and everything, i even bowed the truss rod like garry willis said.,.. credit card.... well.... there is no fret buzz on 1-4 but the fretbuzz is huge 6-8 and then just bad on 9-20.

so i tightedend it back up a little... still awful.... what gives?

Old renegade bass... still learning to setup myself so when it comesto good bases i have some experience....

before there was a little fret buzz here and then, now it is catastrophic...

Thanks

2. Trevorus

Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    Well, what does the neck look like? Is it bowed away from you (while in playing position) or towards you? You may need to adjust the bridge as well. Let's see a picture of this bass.

3. Well it is bowed slightly toward me, away from the strings...and it was flat when i started. No space when youfret the first and puch at the end of the neck.Now there is a little space. I moved it back to flat... still major buzz, so I moved it to slightly bowed again, still bad....

the action i would consider quite high, if i lower it it doest work becuase the strings bang onto other frets rather than just fret buzzing.

Here is the bass.
    Thanks.

Attached Files:

4. Are you saying the neck is bent backwards? The neck should have a SLIGHT bow towards the strings.

5. alibloke

alibloke

Dec 17, 2004
    Bristol, England
    I agree, you definitely need to take things slower, at least allow your truss rod to settle down overnight. A good setup guide can be found for bass at

http://www.mrgearhead.net/

See the Fender section.