1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I keep learning more theory........but

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by arejay, Jan 26, 2012.

1. arejay

arejay

Jan 26, 2012
    Ive been playing bass for 8 years. Ive played in a couple metal bands in this time and have built up good dexterity in both hands, that is to say good enough dexterity to play in bands and such. Problem is when it comes to writing basslines and really outlining chords my brain is nowhere near my hands. Now that im older i still prefer to play mostly fast aggressive music but ive also started to play with some more classic rock type musician where more knowledge is required. I have also felt more compelled to learn about the bass and theory. Ive pick up some knowledge mostly from guitar players ive played with, but everytime i try to learn from a book or on the internet the lessons get to boring because its like they are talking to someone who has never touched a bass before, and i find myself noodling around and trying to gallop as fast as i can. I also have adhd or some **** too. basically what im asking is anyone know any good books for my situation or methods of learning that wont put me to sleep.

2. jmattbassplaya

jmattbassplaya Looking for a gig around East Islip, NY!

Jan 13, 2008
    Long Island, NY.