I *know* i probably shouldn't ask this but i'm desperate!

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Elle, Jan 9, 2004.

1. Elle

Feb 25, 2001
    Having searched through the 'strings' forum and read the FAQ I'm still none the wiser for my query. So please will someone help?!

I have had my Peavey Milestone III bass for just over 3 years now and have never changed the strings (shocking!). I've now decided that my bass should have a bit of an MOT and get some new strings, but I am completely stuck as to what type to buy :meh: Also, as I'm a student, I can't afford to spend too much, but obviously I don't want to but cheapo strings that won't last very long.

Any suggestions?? :bassist: (They'll be gratefully recieved!) :)
  2. Asaf

Jun 9, 2003
    hi man, well you need to be more specific, what style of music do you play how much money can you spend ?

there are few european sites that sell strings but the best prices are at the forum sponser's site - if you don't have tax at your country.

write some more and everybody will help you.
  3. Stu L.

Stu L. Supporting Member

Nov 27, 2001
    Corsicana, Texas
    I will always stand behind GHS boomers. They get my vote.
  4. Sounds like you must have really liked the strings that came on the bass, why not just match that brand and go with whats on your bass right now! You can get another 3 years out of a new set!

FWIW, I'm a Thomastik-infield user, Flats and The Power Bass series, they sound awesome and have a long life too.

5. My vote goes to Rotosound Swing Bass 66. They sound bright, which suits me, but they have an image problem.

The two common complaints are that they go dull quite quickly, and they have a high reject rate. I practice one night in two, and gig every other week, and my sets stay bright for about 6 months. In three years I have had one dead-sounding new string, and Rotosound sent me a complete set to replace it.