1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I know I'm probably crazy for wondering this...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by powellmacaque, Sep 17, 2010.

1. ...but how "worth it" are two bachelor's degrees in music?

I plan on earning a degree in electric bass/music industry in the near future (I've accumulated about 60 credit hours), but I recently discovered ETSU's Bluegrass, Old Time, and Country music program.

I'd like to finish out this degree since I've put so much into it (plus I'm getting in-state tuition when I transfer to a University), but I'd also like to earn the degree at ETSU with a focus on Upright bass and Mandolin.

Any advice?

2. Tampabass

Tampabass Going Viral By 2080 Supporting Member

Feb 16, 2006
    Tampa
    What is ETSU? Just curious.

3. I have a degree in accounting. Work as an accountant. Guess it was "worth it".. but I'd rather be a rockstar. Too bad a music degree doesn't make you a professional musician :(

I would say the networking and connections you make during your program is probably worth more than the education if you looking at it from a career perspective.

4. MatticusMania

MatticusMania LANA! HE REMEMBERS ME!

Sep 10, 2008
    Pomona, SoCal
    What do you plan on using your two degrees in music for?

TBH, probably not worth it.

5. Learning. Getting into grad school. I know that most music degrees are just letters after your name and there are plenty of people who can play better than people with said letters after their names.

For the first degree, I'd be learning music copyright, recording, etc while learning electric bass.

For the second I'd be learning old-time music, music history, and playing upright, mandolin, maybe even guitar.