I know Mike Porcaro used a Fender Jazz Bass, but did he also use a Precision?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by IMMusicRulz, May 6, 2022.

1. IMMusicRulz

IMMusicRulz Commercial User

Aug 3, 2020
    Atlanta, GA
    I am a semi-professional musician
    Judging by this picture, Mike Porcaro’s Jazz Bass was manufactured in 1980, but it could have been manufactured earlier than that.

upload_2022-5-6_14-21-38.jpeg
    upload_2022-5-6_14-22-28.jpeg
    Deciding to ask if Mike actually used a Fender Precision Bass on any of the studio sessions he played on. I’m sure he did back in the seventies, but I believe most of his tenure in Toto he played a Peavey Cirrus 5 string bass, a Yamaha BB414 bass and an Ibanez bass. Mike also used a pick, which is how he got his loud tone. I know David Hungate used a Fender Precision Bass and a white Yamaha bass, but if anyone has any pictures of Mike Porcaro with a Fender Precision Bass please let me know.

2. Giffro

Giffro

Apr 29, 2017
    South Australia
  3. Lonnybass

Lonnybass

Jul 19, 2000
    San Diego
    Endorsing Artist: Pedulla Basses
    Mike played a variety of basses over the years. While I don’t know what all he used during the studio years, I’ve seen photos of him with several different Fender J’s.

Non Fenders he used from the mid 80s on included:

-Alembic
    -Pedulla
    -Ripley
    -F Bass
    -Musicman
    -Sugi
    Status
    -Tobias
    -Peavey Cirrus

I’ll see if I have any photos of him on Precisions.

Last edited: May 7, 2022
    nixdad and IMMusicRulz like this.
  4. cdef

cdef

Jul 18, 2003
    It would be a very principled studio bassist indeed who refrained from ever using a Fender Precision.

OldFenderPlayer and sears like this.
  5. Sam Porcaro

Sam Porcaro

May 8, 2018