1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I know this has been beaten to death, but I cant help it..

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by KissThaRing, Mar 21, 2013.

1. KissThaRing

KissThaRing

Nov 3, 2012
    So I been playing bass for about 7 months now, so I'm still an uber noob here, but I had a question about the Fuzzorcious Rat Tail. I'm really crackin' down and starting to learn some of my favorite songs all the way though, mainly RATM and Tool, and I have no pedals whatsoever. Yes, I've read the FAQ and did alot of research, the problem I'm having is I just don't understand alot of jargon and lingo, so I'm running into all types of confusion on what to buy exactly and if it will work. I think I need overdrive and distortion, so will the rat tail work for that? I been hearing how pedals suck the bottom end off so I dont wanna make the mistake of buying something lame here. My setup is very beginner, I have an Ampeq BA115Hp and an Ibanez SR300, as of right now with just "striking" the strings and having my trouble and mids cranked up, I can get a pretty clanky/gritty tone which I like, but I want alittle more.

So any tips? Recommendation? I'm hoping to stay under $200. Thanks for any info

2. MilkyMcMilkMilk

MilkyMcMilkMilk

Dec 17, 2008
    The Earthbound Audio Iron Pig is a great rat clone.
    Or Dr. Scientist The Elements.
    Both awesome pedals and both can do slight overdrive to full on distortion

3. knumbskull

knumbskull

Jul 28, 2007
    UK
    the Rat Tail is capable of sounds very similar to RATM and Tool :)

i believe Justin Chancellor uses a Rat in his signal chain, and the Rat Tail is pretty much a turbo extra amazing Rat ;).