Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I know what I must do

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Zirc, Jul 22, 2004.

1. Zirc

Zirc

May 13, 2001
    Los Angeles
    Last night at the HORSE the band show, I had a vision. I know what I must do now. There's no turning back. This is the beginning. The only way to go is up.

I've been playing bass for about 6-7 years and I am fed up with broken bands. If you want something done right, you have to do it all yourself, therefore I will buy a guitar, drum machine, cd player, mixer, and create music. I will play shows with bands and scream over my recorded music. Before every show I play, I will tell the audience "I'm all alone up here, so if you can play better than me, join my band."

When I get a recording, I'll post it here. Sorry if I'm wasting anyone's time with this post, but I needed to tell someone.

2. Brendan

Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    I'm headed in the same direction. Not because of dead end bands, but because I always want to make music at 4:00 AM, and it's pretty much impossible to find a band that wants to practice then.

So, I'm probably gonna hook myself up with some gear over the course of the next couple years. First is gonna some recording inputs for my computer (not sure what yet) then a guitar and some effects pedals (getting a V-Guitar unit would pretty much solve that issue). I can't play guitar worth a damn, but not being able to do something worth a damn hasn't stopped me from playing bass or doing vocals.

I figure it'll be ass, but at least I can do something with myself when I'm awake at 3:30 AM.

3. Zirc

Zirc

May 13, 2001
    Los Angeles
    Good deal. Recording inputs for the comp? I think I'm going to just mic each instrument with an SM57 and then mix it on the comp.

4. Brendan

Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX