1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I learned how to finger pick the "wrong" way!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by DanCanBASS, Sep 17, 2016.

1. DanCanBASS

DanCanBASS

Aug 17, 2016
    I'm a newer bassist (guitar convert) and my friend pointed out to me a few nights ago, that I was finger picking wrong. I made the argument, that everyone plays differently, yada, yada. Then, I try his way, or the standard way, and holy camoli the different in power surprised me. Prior to that event, how I fingerpicked was by curling a small amount of my finger tip under the string and plucking it up, opposed to him pushing the string down and letting it pop back up on its own. There is much more umph in his playing style, nothing that I couldn't have "added" to mine through a mixer, but regardless I've started retraining myself to use the way he fingerpicks as it could be much more quicker when I become better at it, it just feels so uncomfortable for now!

I'm just curious, has anyone else started out with this (I don't want to call it a problem, but) problem?

2. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    central NY state
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)
    I usually shoot for plucking "across" the strings (parallel to the top), rather than up or down (helps avoid fret buzz when playing hard). But my position and angle vary depending on what sounds / feels good at the moment.

DanCanBASS likes this.
  3. Lobster11

Lobster11 Supporting Member Supporting Member

Apr 22, 2006
    Williamsburg, VA