1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I lost my virginity... to a Rick

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Sublab, May 21, 2011.

1. Yesterday I played a Rick for the very first time and what a feeling! It was a '79 4001. It was full of scratches and dents, the strings were dead. The pickups were full of dust that seemed to have been there for years. She looked like she could use a good pair of loving bassplayers hands. I took her off the wall and plugged her into an Eden combo of some sorts, didn't really do justice to her but there wasn't that much choice. She immediately felt 'right' and I loved the shape of the body and was surprised that it didn't weigh as much as I thought. The neck has the same dimension from the nut to the body, and although this felt awkward at first, I guess it's just a matter of growing used to, nothing more. Then I started playing it. The string spacing was too narrow so I tripped over my fingers, as I do on my Warwick. The tone was, well..... really really really good! I tried a couple of Sandbergs also and they're top notch basses, and a real steal for what they sell for in Europe. But they don't have that Rick sound and you just can't dial it in on a Sandberg and I wasn't able to dial it out on the Rick. I fell in love with it, the sound, the body, the weight, it all seemed to fit. But the guys over at the store were asking 1800 euro's for a scratched and dent 1979 bass that had a poor set up and needed replacement parts, and that's just undemocratic. Up untill now this first time Rick is the most special bass I've played and its sound and feel have made me reconsider buying a Sandberg Bullet, which, up untill yesterday, was the bass I would most likely be getting. I might never be able to get a Rick, they sell for way too much over here, even secondhand. But I finally played one and it feels like I've found 'my bass'.