1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I love a 60s Jazz as much as the next guy but....

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by easyvision, May 13, 2010.

1. spaz21387

spaz21387

Feb 25, 2008
    Portland oregon
    i have seen this one on ebay before... but didnt it have a tort pickguard??? and the guy seems to be hiding the serial number just like he did with the tort guard one...

2. Can't say I've seen it before. I try to avoid looking at eBay for potential GAS reasons:p

There's no way I'd pay that much for it though...couple grand, yeah, I can understand that...but 55? No thanks...

3. spaz21387

spaz21387

Feb 25, 2008
    Portland oregon
    its because its a gold sparkle. and probably a refinish job im not a vintage expert but i dont think gold sparkle was a stock fender color. or even more likely its a fake.

4. smythe5

smythe5

May 11, 2010
    haha. ridiculous... i thought i overpaid spending $1,500 on my '78 P bass...

5. He claims it's a custom paintjob, presumably from the Fender custom shop. Did they even do customs back then or was it a case of whatever they put out is what you get?

6. smythe5

smythe5

May 11, 2010
    but even if it is a custom fender paint job.... 10 to 15 grand seems to be the limit anyone would pay for something that rare... 55 grand? just sounds like a scam...

7. spaz21387

spaz21387

Feb 25, 2008
    Portland oregon
    why does he hide the serial number... you would think if your going to pay 55k for a bass he would show the serial so you can prove its from when he says it is

8. Very valid points...I've got this saved as a watched item, just to see if anyone's stupid enough...I mean, enough of a collector:rolleyes:...to buy it.

9. spaz21387

spaz21387

Feb 25, 2008
    Portland oregon