Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I`m New And Starting To Get Blue

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by davegr8house, Aug 13, 2001.

1. HELLO ALL,
    I AM NEW TO THE URB AND FIRST WANT TO THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME IF YOU CAN HELP. I HAVE BEEN PLAYING ELECTRIC BASS FOR 14 YEARS AND URB ABOUT A YEAR. WELL I HAVE NOTICED THE FINGERBOARD IS COMING APART FROM THE NECK.ITS NOT LOOSE AND IT DOES NOT SEEM TO AFFECT THE SOUND. IT IS CHIPING AT THE SEAM WHERE IT IS GLUED. IS THIS A COMMON PROBLEM? IS IT COSTLY TO FIX"gulp"? HELP......

2. Hey welcome to TB, I really can't answer your questions but I can help a little.

First I see your a Ray Brown fan, I try to see him every time he is in Boston, I love his playing.

You probally shouldn't write in all CAPS.
    The next thing is can you give any more info about the bass? I.e Make, model, fingerboard type.

You shall get your answers soon enough. Any more info you can give will help those that can answer the question.

3. sorry about the large caps

4. The bass is Chinese made. Rosewood fingerboard. Other than the neck it is built like a tank. I bought it on ebay.They come from Houston, TX. I don`t know the maker. They said it was 4/4.

5. DrGroove

DrGroove

Jun 8, 2000
    Austin, TX
    Same thing happened to my upright about a year after it's purchase.

The fingerboard began separating. I brought it to a shop to have it fixed, which cost $50.

Basically, luthiers use a process called 'tacking' when they are building an upright bass.

The fingerboard is attached to the neck with 3 to 4 little spots of wood glue. In this way, they are able to shape the neck and fingerboard to match one another, while retaining the flexibility of removing the fingerboard to work on each piece separately.