Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I need a fantabulous amp! HELP!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by LimpyBizkit397, Jul 4, 2002.

1. I have been playing for about 2 or 3 years now and I play a Stngray 5 and a BTB400QM and the problem is I have been playing through the same suck amp for the past 3 years! It's a Fender Frontman 15B. I am VERY serious about playing bass and I need to know if there was a good combo out there that was nice sounding and not too expensive. I REALLY need a bigger and better amp because you can't even hear the true tone of the Stingray through my current one. Any advice is welcome. Thanks.
    Laura

2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    What are you willing/able to spend?
    Do you play in a band? Yo you gig? What style and band setup?

3. Nick man

Nick man

Apr 7, 2002
    Tampa Bay
    I recommend a Nemesis amp.

Depending on what kind of situation you would use it for I could recomend a different amp.

For personal practice, or practice is a relatively small or low volume band setting, I would recommend their 1-12" NC-112P combo amp.

For practice with a medium or loud volume band, I would recommend the 1-15" NC-115P combo.

For practice and small gigs with a loud band, or medium gigs where you will be mic'd into the PA system, I recommend their 2-10" NC-210P combo.

For medium gigs or large gigs where you will go through the PA, I recommend the 2-12" NC-212P or 4-10" NC-410P combo.

I recommend any of these amps even for big gigs as long as you get an extension cab, even though the bigger ones should be fine without it. All the amps (even the smallest) have 225 Watts of power, and sound great. They are built by Eden, but are far less expensive.