I need a good first bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by buck_weat, May 13, 2002.

1. buck_weat

buck_weat Guest

May 9, 2002
    Southeastern Ohio
    Hello All,

I am wanting to buy my first bass, and I have a few questions....but a little background might be in order first...

I have played regular guitar for over 30 years, mostly self-taught. I've not played very much in the last few years, though. Then I saw the Bela Fleck free preview back in Feb, and I was totally blown away. Then I discovered Victor Wooten...and was again blown away. I had never heard the Bass guitar played like that.

Anyway, I am inspired again and want to learn to play Bass. My problem is I'm not sure which guitar would be right for me. I have a few questions that I hope will help me in my search.

First, What are the differences in the active Basses vs the passive ones? I've found some with passive pickups, active pickups, passive pickups with active circuitry, etc.. What exactly does the active do for me? Is it just and on-board EQ? Does it sound that much better?

Also, do I need a 4 or 5 string bass? Is the 5 a LOT harder to learn on, or should I get a 4 to start out with for a few years?

I want 24 frets, and action that is good for tapping.
    I want the guitar to last me a few years. I don't want to go out and buy a piece of junk, and then have to buy another one in a few months.

Yamaha has an active bass for around $400, and Ibanez has a few I've seen in a popular music catalog. I've seen that some people on here like the Peavy Cirrus. Would that be a good choice to start out with? I'd like to keep the price around $600, if possible also.

I know I sound like a total newbie, but I've tried some local music stores, but they can't seem to help me much. They're small, and only carry a few different models of bass, so I can't sit down and compare a lot of different instruments at one time.