I NEED A LOT OF HELP!! plz. (chords...etc)

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Anti-Cult Bass, Jul 30, 2007.

1. Anti-Cult Bass

Anti-Cult Bass

May 23, 2007
    hey everybody out there. i need some help. I have been playing bass for a little more than a year, and until now i've just been a bass "player". i know i know its wrong. but i just played to enjoy myself and never thought any further. but now my need for knowledge has backed me into a corner. i need to learn some scales, chords, progressions.... so on and so forth. i only know like one scale (pentatonic) which i just move around the fretboard to make it sound different. thats all i really know. i am a good bassist, and i learn from tabs, but i do know how to read sheet music a little bit. i know the names of notes based on the fret it is on. so i would appreciate tabs if possible. if you want to post the scales/chords on here its cool, but if you know a website with them on it i would appreciate that too.

thanks for paying attention through all of my wandering conversation. im kinda ******** or something. lol.

thank you so much for any help. i am truly grateful because you have helped me in my path of bass enlightenment.

2. ThomasG

ThomasG

Jul 20, 2007
    San Diego, CA
    Hello. The first thing I would do is to obtain a great book on music theory ( does not have to be a bass instuction book). You want to first learn key signature and the major scale to each one of them.

For example the key of F ( only has one flat note which is B). So in the key of F, everytime you play a B it is flat = Bb.

The notes are arranged in scale degrees. For example in the key of F it would be = F G A Bb C D E ( 7 notes). Off of each scale degree you build your MODES. MODES are great scales to learn.

They go in this order ( look below)

Ionian, Dorian, Phyrgian, Lydian, Mixilydian, Aelion, Locrian so

in the key of F it would be as following ( look below)