1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I need a new rig! Anyone have suggestions?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by thexypattern, Mar 29, 2006.

1. thexypattern

thexypattern

Mar 29, 2006
    MD/DC
    I'm mainly a rock bassist that tours a lot in my band. My current setup is awesome, but i want something that will cut through a little better and also have a hint of that vintage grit.

This is what i have now:
    Alembic F-1X (old one with red tipped knobs)
    DBX 160a
    CREST CA9
    BERGANTINO HT310
    BERGANTINO HT212

I love this setup, but i dont like the idea of 2 cabinets, and i would love something in a 3/4 stack. I would even put out for a custom cab. Dont get me wrong, this tone is beautifully punchy and sounds great by itself. I just cant get it to cut through on stage.

Someone PLEASE help me...

2. Quadzilla

Quadzilla Supporting Member

Vintage (tube) grit? See my sig...

3. thexypattern

thexypattern

Mar 29, 2006
    MD/DC
    thanks for the suggestion, unfortunately i hate peavey, and i'm trying to stay away from the standard ampeg choices.

4. Quadzilla

Yeah, I was not a Peavey amp fan until this head (this is NOT like any other Peavey I've seen or used). Anyway, Trace makes some nice tube heads.

5. chaosMK

chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    Sansamp BDDI or the right EQ might make your dreams come true. If the gear you own cant get the job done, I am not sure what will.

6. thexypattern

thexypattern

Mar 29, 2006
    MD/DC
    had one then it was stolen... It got me closer to what i was looking for, but everyone got them. I just hate to be a conformist.

7. I don't know much about the 'high-end' side of things, but the sadowsky SA200 tube amp might be a nice choice for you?

8. jokerjkny

jokerjkny