1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I need a portable recorder! Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by derrenleepoole, Nov 12, 2006.

1. Apart from playing the bass, I'm a field recording artist. I'm looking for a portable recording device. Something like an mp3 player that will support uncompressed .wav recording with a direct line-in. I know they exsist, but I'm having difficulty pinning down specific models etc. I'm fully aware of the following alternatives such as the Edirol R-1, R-09 and M-Audio Microtrack. I don't want one of them, all I need is a little player recorder that will take my line-in binaural mics and record at CD quality with USB out. I know iRiver did one a couple of years ago that recorded to wav format, but finding one on eBay is hit and miss, and they're now discontinued. I have a Minidisc too, but that is a compressed file format. Plus the MD with USB isn't supported on a Mac. I also know about the Zen Jukebox? But again finding one is difficult. I did look at the Zoom PS-04, but that only takes 128 meg smart media cards! Useless for field recording. And I'm aware of the Boss Micro PR (?) but know reviews of this are out yet.

Suggestions?

2. a00nick

a00nick

Dec 28, 2005
    Chapel Hill, NC
    With the zoom you can get a 2 gig memory cards on ebay that will run you for about 35 bucks. Thats somthing you might want to concider.

3. jive1

jive1 Commercial User

Jan 16, 2003
    Alexandria,VA
    Owner/Retailer: Jive Sound
    I have an Archos Gmini that records to WAV. I've only recorded straight from a stereo output of a board with it, so I can't vouch for the ability to use mics. The built-in mic is way too sensitive, and picks up too many vibrations.

For using a microphone, I prefer my Sharp Minidisc.

4. BluesyCat

BluesyCat I'm irresistible. Gold Supporting Member

Jul 28, 2006
    Southern California