Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I need a suggestion

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Spearhead, Dec 9, 2002.

1. I am applying to the music school at the University of Miami and for my taped audition I need perform 4 pieces, 3 of which need to have backing drums and guitar or piano. I also need to solo over the same three pieces. Two of them I have nailed down (opus pocus and maiden voyage), but I need a suggestion for a samba or bossa selection and also a legitiamte classical piece. I have very little experience with these two categories and thus would like something relativeley easy to pick up with a little woodshedding, but I'm really looking for something unique. Any help from you guys would be great. Thanks in advance.

2. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

As a bossa nova fan since the early 1960s when a double bassist in a jzz band introduced me to what was for me an entirely new sound--Bossa Nova-- allow me to make these suggestions.

The GREATS of bossa nova are Joao Gilberto, Antonio Carlos Jobim, Astrud Gilberto, Laurindo Almeida, Luiz Bonfa, American saxophonist Stan Getz and guitarist Charlie Byrd.

Some of the best known songs of this genre were written and performed by the above. These songs include:

Insensatez (How Insensative)
    Samba de Uma Nota So (One Note Samba)
    Corcovado (Quiet Night of Quiet Stars)
    Sambalero
    Desafinado
    Chega de Saudade (Good bye Blues)
    Bim Bon
    Samba Triste (Sad Samba)
    O Pato (The Duck)
    Agua De Beber (Water to Drink)
    So Danco Samba
    Garota de Ipanema (Girl from Ipanema)
    Manha de Carnival (Theme from "Black Orpheus")