I need advice for a mid-range bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Althius, Jul 25, 2004.

1. Althius

Jul 25, 2004
    Forgive me if this all seems Sooooo very n00bish....

I need some advice on a good mid-level bass for myself. Usually when people ask for advice, the answer is, "well, it really all depends on your needs, and playing style..."

So, give me 2 mintues and I'll give you a little background.

I have been playing Bass for 10+ some-odd years. I started playing Upright in 8th grade, because, well there was no one else to do it.

I bought a 4 string Fender JP-90 in 1991 so I could play in jazz band in high-school, but most of my time was spent with Upright. I never owned my own UB, and I played in Orchestra through college.

So anyway my ol' JP-90 has seen its last days, I keep taking it to be repaired, and it keeps breaking 6 months down the road. I want to get a new bass, but I have NO FREAKIN' idea where to start.

I went to the local music shop and played around, but it was just so overwhelming. I really liked the Parker Fly Bass (but noone here seems to :eek: ), mostly because it felt 'similar' to what I was used to in an upright as far as fret spacing goes, and I liked its 'accoustic' sound. Can someone give me a few models that might fit my needs/price range?

I play mostly in church and for fun in small bands, so no insane thumpin or slaping will be neccessary. Frets, no frets, I don't care... I just want a good solid 4 string bass that will last me to the end of my days.

I have somewhere in the neighborhood of $500-$1,000 to spend on it. Last year I bought a Behringer BX600, and that will probably be the amp I use for a long time to come.

Thanks for listening...
  2. kyo

Jul 6, 2004
    i'd say get an SX and use the rest of the dough on a killer amp :hyper: :hyper: :hyper:

but to answer your question...i dunno, i think everyone is going to say spector :bassist:
  3. rusty

Mar 29, 2004