Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I NEED ADVICE !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bayou_Brawler, Oct 23, 2003.

1. Bayou_Brawler

Bayou_Brawler The most hurtful thing ever realized

Oct 23, 2003
    Ann Arbor, MI
    I've been playing bass for about 9 years. I've been playing on a 4 string Ernie Ball for most of that time.

I am about to buy a fender american jazz bass.

I am trying to decide between a 4 or 5 string. i don't really see a need for a 5 but part of me really likes that low b (i'm a big fan of the low low octaves). i finally have the money saved up and i can't make a decision.

anyone have some advice for me?????

also i was thinking about getting a rosewood neck. my music man in maple. i hear rosewood has a softer tone while maple in more midtonish. i'm looking for a more "natural" tone.

anyone have advice?????

i need help

2. Go for it,

I have been playing nothing but five strings for about five years and there the only thing I play now. I have nothing to complain about at all. The two octave range is wonderful to work with and the neck isn't to overly broad.

-Anthony

3. Slot

Slot

Oct 17, 2003
    Sydney - The Shire
    I would recommend a MIA jazz 4-string 1000% ....They're a great sturdy and versatile axe that you can beat the crap out of, and they will still come back for more.

However ...IMO the jazz 5's are awful. The B sounds weak and cheap, and they dont seem to have that classic jazz tone that we all love(most of us anyway) - Having said that though, im sure there are a few nice jazz 5's floating around, but they seem to be few and far between.

If you're keen on a 5, i would recommend that you buy something else. But if you want a 4, you need the fender;)

4. If you want to go the 5-string Fender road, I suggest you get the Roscoe Beck Signature bass. Much better than the Jazz V.