1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I need basic music theory help...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by jbassist17, Sep 29, 2008.

1. jbassist17

jbassist17

Sep 20, 2008
    So, I've been learning bass on my own for about 3 years now, never have had any sort of training or anything, just kind of go with it and jam with friends a bit, but have yet to learn one essential aspect that I feel is going to open things up a lot for me: when I'm jamming and the guitarist/pianist says to me we're in the key of (whatever), I've caught on by now that it doesn't mean I can just jam using that scale. What in the world is the difference between keys and scales and how do I use them?

Thank you,

Justin

2. ryco

ryco

Apr 24, 2005
    It's not so much about keys and scales - it's more about keys and chords in them.

As a bassist it is probably more helpful to learn the chord tones (root, 3rd, 5th & 7th) for each type of chord; Maj, min, dim (mb5) & Aug.

Keys contain a specific number of sharps or flats, to be sure. But these "accidentals" aren't strictly adhered to. This is what makes music sound interesting is using chromaticis (notes that aren't in the key). Otherwise music would sound pretty stale.

Every chord can be translated into a scale - but even in a chord you may want to use notes that aren't in that chord's scale.

In jamming if someone calls out a key and it's a Major key the I, IV chord are usually Major, the V chord is dominant (Maj triad 1, 3, 5 and b7). ii iii and vi are usually minor (1, b3, 5, b7). Key of C = C d e F G7 a bø. (capital letters mean Maj, lower case = minor)

If it's a minor key i, ii and iv are usually minor. III, VI, VII can be Major. And V is usually Dom7. C min - c d Eb f G7 Ab Bb