Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I need bridge advice please.

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Flat Bass, Feb 24, 2003.

1. Flat Bass

Flat Bass

Dec 8, 2002
    I just got a new bridge and it is taller than my old one and it has adjusters. What do I cut it down to size with? I also need to know what to file the place where I put my underwood with also? And also the feet need to be a little more curved. And one more question, what do I cut the string indentions with? This is my first time with this

2. Jeff Bollbach

Jeff Bollbach Jeff Bollbach Luthier, Inc.

Dec 12, 2001
    freeport, ny
  3. What an excellent link!

Thanks!

- Wil

4. Bob Gollihur

Bob Gollihur GollihurMusic.com

Mar 22, 2000
    New Joisey Shore
    Big Cheese Emeritus: Gollihur Music
    I've also emailed you a copy of the installation instructions I've written to go with the adjustable bridges I sell.

5. Flat Bass

Flat Bass

Dec 8, 2002
    Guys,
    I read all that on that page but man I am a beginner. I have no idea what all that means. I am very confused. I think I will just send the brideg back. It is adjustable like I wanted though. But it seems as though it will still be very hard to adjust because the bottom of the adjusters do not screww out of the bottom feet. I am very confused and think I have gotten into something beyond me.

6. I'm not sure where you are, but I would recommend getting an experienced luthier to fit your bridge. If it's not done correctly, it will totally screw up the sound/playability of your bass. Tip: leave it to the experts (unless of course, you don't really care what your bass sounds like, or how it plays...) Take it to a decent luthier - you know you will eventually...

Hope this helps -

- Wil

7. erikwhitton

erikwhitton Guest

Sep 20, 2002
    Portland, ME USA