1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I need help deciding which bass to buy

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SuperKoopa97, Apr 2, 2013.

1. SuperKoopa97

SuperKoopa97

Aug 3, 2012
    I have been playing bass since 4 years. My first bass was a Squier california series P-Bass in Sunburst finish with Rosewood fingerboard, maple neck and basswood body. I've got a little Hartke A25 Bass combo for practicing, but i may buy a 100 watt version soon. My father has offered buying me a new bass guitar, since the Rosewood Precision hasn't got the tone i want and now i want to have a bass i can keep forever. The tone i want can be described as a clang, when the action is very low, the strings are low gauge and the treble knob is turned up. Somewhat like Geddy LeeĀ“s bass tone. I tried some Basses at my local store, P-Basses, J-Basses, Yamahas, Ibanez and Rickenbackers. I have seen two basses that i fell in love with, The Fender American Standard Jazz Bass, with Maple fretboard, Sunburst finish and tortoise shell pickguard and the Rickenbacker 4003 with finished rosewood fretboard and Fireglo finish. The Fender is around $1200 and the Rick is like $1600. This basses are so different, i love the feel of the Jazz, but the looks of the Rick. Both have excellent sounds, IMO. I would also like my bass to be as versatile as possible, since sometimes i am playing progressive rock, sometimes metal and sometimes jazz. Which one of this two will be the better option? Price is not an issue. I may buy the other one in four years or so. These two basses are gorgeous!!:bassist:

Thanks in advance. Hope you can help me with my doubts.

PS: Don't suggest me other basses, since the only thing you will do is confuse me even more ;)

2. Myrriad

Myrriad Banned

Oct 11, 2012