Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

i need help getting "action"

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Bayou_Brawler, Dec 5, 2003.

1. Bayou_Brawler

Bayou_Brawler The most hurtful thing ever realized

Oct 23, 2003
    Ann Arbor, MI
    this is probably my 10th post about my new fender jazz. but hey i got questions. i've been playing for years but on the same bass so i have limited gear knowledge.

anyway. how does everyone here have their action set on their basses. on my stingray i have it about as low as you can go. it feels perfect super super low and no buzz. when i got my fender in the mail the action was very high. the book said it is set to optimum height before shipping. to me it feels way to high. it feels like more work to play. i'm wondering how everyone out there has their action set. does the action affect the tone much?

anyone have any tips for setting the action. should i let a professional do it. on my stingray, which i've had for years, i just would bend the neck and mess with the bridge height settings till it felt good. i really have no idea what i was doing.

????????????????????????????????

2. Mike A

Mike A Supporting Member

Oct 3, 2002
    Kentucky
    If you're wanting "action," the first step would be to get away from your computer for a while ;)

3. Bayou_Brawler

Oct 23, 2003
    Ann Arbor, MI
    i am beyond help in that category.

come on guys i need some advice before i go home for the weekend.;)

4. My RIC's action is as low as humanly possible...quite comfy to play.
    But when i switch to one of my 4 P-basses i notice a huge difference. They are much higher and a bit more of a workout.
    All Fenders i have played though generally came with somewhat high action,(higher than alot of other basses i find anyway)

I usually set the action myself by just lowering the strings till i find a comfy height.