Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I need help on what I want in a new bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by 5intheface, Dec 19, 2004.

1. 5intheface

5intheface

Dec 18, 2004
    This is my first ever post! Hey guys, I've been a bassist for 4 years, and a bass guitarist four 3. I think I'm pretty good, and music is my life. I love me classic rock, jazz, and anything with taste, you know? My biggest loves are The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Miles Davis, and of course, Jaco Pastorius.

Well, with that crap out of the way, I'm itchin' to buy a new bass. I've had this same Samick J-bass since I started out in 8th grade. It's served me well, surpirsing quality for a starter bass. But I've gotten all the mileage out of it that I can. It's served its time and its now time to get a better bass of higher quality because I'm getting paid for gigs and stuff now.

So, since I will be buying this myself, I was thinking something in the $600 range. I don't really know too much technical stuff, but I do know some stuff I want on it:

-four strings
    -Jazz bass (maybe something else, doubt it unless I really like it)
    -would prefer 24 frets (I play high alot)
    -Good slap tones, yet good natural (almost upright bass) tones, yet good Jaco-esque high punchy tones

Other than that, I don't know much of what I want. Do you guys know what kind of pick-ups, neck construction, active or passive, or other stuff I would want? People here seem to know thier technical stuff so I would appreciate any help. My other plan is to get work done on my bass now and make it fretless. Anyway, thanks in advance.