Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I need help.....PLEASE!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Philip71, May 20, 2005.

1. Philip71

Philip71

Jul 23, 2004
    I am a very inexperienced bassist when it comes to live playing and setup's for club's and outside venues...but I just landed this country gig and I am not even sure where to start as far as putting a rig together for clubs.....I will more than likely be playing through the rig with my Dean edge Q6 so that tells you what kind of bass I will be using can anyone offer any advice on a rig??

2. illidian

illidian

Jul 2, 2004
    First question: How much money do you have to spend?

With a budget, we can all work from there.

3. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    yes, budget is the 1st consideration. you may need to revisit your budget a few times.

tone is a big consideration as well. if you can, listen to lots of stuff (amps and cabs) seeing what you like and don't like.

another thing to consider is size/weight/portability. a rig is no good if you can't transport it, and some rigs that are big get old to carry around after a while.

along those lines would be the consideration of modularity and ubgradeability (is that even a word?) :p . A modular setup (e.g., a head and two medium size cabs rather than a head and a giant cab) can be cool as you can bring one cab to smaller gigs, and both to bigger ones. Upgrade potential kind of fits in with the modularity. maybe you cant afford both cabinets now, but you can afford a head and one cab, so you opt for a setup that will allow you to add on later (be carefull, not all will, and there is a limit to how many cabs you can hook up to a head depending upon their impedance)

so you go back and revisit your budget. :eyebrow: