Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I need help with amp terms...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BassGuitarNerd, Apr 2, 2005.

1. I am still a little new to the whole amp scene. I have had my bass guitar for about 2 years now and I still only have my little 15 watt amp that came with it. I am going to buy a new one but i am a little confused by the terms they use. Can someone describe to me what the differences are between the following. This will help not only me, but anyone else who is confused. Thank you! :)

Preamp

Power amp

Head

Cabinet

Stack

This might seem like a really stupid post but it would really help me out. If there is any additional info i might need please post it. The only thing i know about are combo amps, but when I need something a little better I will need to learn what all those terms mean. Thanks again! :)

2. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    1st off the faq sticky at the top of the forum has tons of info, so does the search function

Preamp - a device for amplifying the low level signal of your pickups to a line level suitable for inputing into a poweramp. also usually contains eq

Power amp - takes the line level from a preamp and amplifies it to a speaker level signal capable of driving speaker cabinets

Head - contains a preamp and poweramp

Cabinet - this is a box with one or more speakers

Stack - generally refers to a head on top of one or more cabinets

3. Mcrelly

Mcrelly

Jun 16, 2003
    Minnesota, USA
    your "amp" is probably what is refered to as a "combo" or "combo amp" it has a 'preamp','amp' and 'cab' all in one box.